KBenServices

Home » Recipes » Beer Bread

Beer Bread

DSC02261

Next to the crock pot, the bread machine is a busy persons best friend. Besides just flat out tasting better, there is nothing better than the aroma fresh baking bread gives your home.

I have been experimenting with different bread recipes, combining bits and pieces from this one and that one, and coming up with some wonderful breads that everyone really seems to enjoy. Everyone’s favorite has been the Jalapeno Cheddar bread…..Until today.

My daughter told her hubby that I have been making bread for everyone for Christmas this year. He asked that I make him some Beer Bread. I have never been a fan of Beer Bread. I’d only eaten it a few times in the past, and I could always taste the beer in it. Since I am not a beer drinker, it really turned me off of the bread. My son-in-law is a soldier. He spent a year in Iraq, a year in Afghanistan, and missed out on the first year of my beautiful granddaughters life. I tend to fix him whatever he wants when he’s home, especially on the holidays. So the search began. I looked at dozens of beer bread recipes, and came up with this one and ….oh my goodness….. this is now even my favorite bread. I think the key here is to make sure and let the beer set out overnight and go flat.

3 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1/4 cup sugar
3/4 tsp salt
2 1/4 tsp bread machine yeast
2 Tbs Olive Oil
1 cup + 3 Tbs Beer – measure it out and let it sit in an open container overnight to go flat
Place all ingredients in your bread maker in the order recommended by the manufacturer. This is the order I put them in mine. I set my machine to 1.5lb loaf, basic bread, #2 setting for the crust. It takes 3 hours from the time I hit start until the bread is finished.

1 Comment

  1. […] with a thick slice of homemade beer bread and enjoy this cozy […]

Leave a Reply

