KBenServices

Home » Recipes » Horseradish Crusted Pork Loin

Horseradish Crusted Pork Loin

Horseradish Crusted Pork Loin

I’m always looking for ways to cut my grocery bill. It’s one area I can control costs, to a certain degree. One way I save is buying my meat in bulk at Sam’s Club. I will buy a pork loin, bring it home, cut it down and re-package it. Since it’s just my husband and me, I’m able to get 4-5 meals easily out of 1 pork loin, and have leftovers from each meal for another dish. Buying my meat in bulk is very cost-effective. The pork loin, once broken down, figures out to be around $4.00 per initial meal for the meat.

Pork Loin (I cut mine into sections about 6 inches long)
3 Tbs prepared horseradish
1/2 cup mayonnaise
1 clove garlic – finely minced
2 Tsp Dijon
2 tsp fresh thyme
3 green onions – finely chopped (green parts only)
1 tsp fresh sage – finely chopped
1 1/2 cup Panko (hint…..I live in a small town. Finding panko is often not possible. A great substitute, a tip I learned from a Rachel Ray show, is to use rice crispies. Put them in the food processor and grind up. It’s a whole lot cheaper too than buying a box of Panko.)

Pat dry the pork loin. In a small bowl combine horseradish, mayo, Dijon and garlic. Coat all sides of the pork loin with the mixture. In another bowl combine the panko, sage, onions, thyme, salt and pepper. Roll the pork loin in the panko mixture and pat in well. Bake at 400 until center of loin reaches 160..about an hour.

Leave a Reply

