KBenServices

Home » Recipes » Spaghetti Squash – Take 1

Spaghetti Squash – Take 1

Spaghetti Squash

I love squash….butternut squash, acorn squash, summer squash, spaghetti squash. I think the only squash I am not fond of is zucchini. Spaghetti Squash is often a meal in itself for us. Yesterday, though, it was a side dish with my Maple Glazed Pork Loin. I fixed it in the crock pot too.

Cut spaghetti squash in half, remove seeds
1/2 large onion, thinly sliced
4 mushroom caps, thinly sliced
2 large pats of butter
1/2 cup chicken or vegetable broth
Salt and Pepper to taste
Place squash in crock pot. When I use my big crock pot the entire squash fits. When I use my crock pot trio I have to use 2 of the pots, placing half a squash in each.
Salt and pepper the squash.  I tend to use a bit more salt and pepper when I cook yellow squashes.
Sprinkle half of the onions and mushrooms in and over each squash half. Place a pat of butter inside each squash. Pour 1/4 cup of chicken broth over each squash half.
Cook on high for 4 hours.  Remove from the crock pot and use a fork to scoop the squash out of the skin.  It will come out looking like strands of spaghetti.

Check back tomorrow for Take 2 – the leftovers.  It was even better.

1 Comment

  1. Vinny Grette says:

    I love squash too! Go crockpot!

Leave a Reply

