KBenServices

Home » Recipes » Potato Soup in the Crockpot

Potato Soup in the Crockpot

Potato Soup

I love soup. It’s quick, easy and you can turn just about anything into a yummy soup. One of my favorites though is a classic…….good ole potato soup.

A few years ago I put together a family cookbook. I was surprised at how many people in our family sent me the same recipe to put in the book……..my great grandpa’s potato soup recipe. Everyone had added their own tweek to it. This is my version. Normally I just throw it together but this time I did all of my prep the night before and put it all in the crock pot before heading off to work. The difference in flavor was amazing. I do believe this will be my way of making it from now on.

Potato Soup in the Crockpot

8 cups potatoes, cut into bite size pieces
1 onion, chopped
1 celery rib, chopped
1 large clove garlic, finely chopped
1 Tbs fresh Thyme
Pepper
Chicken or Vegetable stock (low sodium)

Peel and cut potatoes the night before. Place in a container, sprinkle salt (I just sprinkled but it was probably about 2 tsp worth), fill with enough water to cover the potatoes. Cover container and put in the fridge. I think soaking the potatoes in the salt water is what made the soup taste so much better.

Chop the onion, celery and garlic. Place in containers (or baggies) in the fridge.

In the morning, drain the water off the potatoes and rinse. Place in crockpot along with the celery, onions and garlic. Add the thyme and pepper. There’s no need to add salt since the potatoes were soaked in salt water. Pour enough stock to just cover the potatoes. Set the crock pot on high for 6 hours and go about your day.

When the vegies are done, ad a cup of fat free half & half. Use an immersion blender and mash up some of the potatoes to make a creamy soup. Don’t blend up all of the potatoes though, you’ll want some chunks in there.

Serve with a thick slice of homemade beer bread and enjoy this cozy dinner.

Leave a Reply

