KBenServices

Home » Recipes » Radish Cucumber Salad

Radish Cucumber Salad

Radish Cucumber Salad

I love fresh vegies from the garden. You can’t beat the flavor.  We actually planted a small garden this year.  My children made fun of me when I told them.  All I have to do is look at a plant and it dies.  But I had a plan, my husband. I’ve left tending it to him and it’s doing great. It looks like we will have lots of fresh tomatoes, peppers, beans, cucumbers, yellow squash and herbs. The strawberries are making. Unfortunately I have only been able to pick and eat 3.  The birds are really enjoying the rest of them.  I really hadn’t planned on sharing with them though.  I did pick my first squash and have really enjoyed being able to walk out to my garden to clip some herbs to use when I’m cooking.

It seems everyone I know has planted a garden this year, and with the exception of the basics…tomatoes and peppers…..everyone has planted different things.  This is great because when the vegies start producing, it’s share time.

The other day my mom gave me some onions from her garden and yesterday one of my clients gave me a bag full of radishes from his garden.  So my side dish last night was an easy to make radish and cucumber salad.

1/2 English Cucumber – thinly sliced
Several Radishes – thinly sliced
1 small Onion – thinly sliced
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
1/4 cup water

Combine the sugar, vinegar and water in a bowl. Mix until the sugar is dissolved.  Place the onions, cucumber and radishes in the bowl and toss well.  Cover and refrigerate for at least an hour before serving.  When I have fresh dill I add about 1/2 tsp.

Leave a Reply

