KBenServices

Home » Recipes » Shepherds Pie ~ Cozy Comfort Food on a Stormy Night

Shepherds Pie ~ Cozy Comfort Food on a Stormy Night

Shephards Pie

I had never heard of Shepherds Pie until I married my husband 10 years ago. It has now become one of my favorite comfort foods and on evenings like today when it’s storming it just seemed like the thing to make. Luckily I had left over mashed potatoes and peas in the fridge.

So here’s my version of a one pan Shepherds Pie

Ingredients
1 lb ground pork (or beef) I just had pork today
2 carrots – chopped
1 small onion – chopped
1 cup peas
Worcestershire Sauce
Salt & Pepper
Mashed Potatoes (I probably had about 2 cups worth)
Grated cheese (I used a new 3 cheese blend that had Monterey, Colby and Cheddar with Cream Cheese)

Drizzle a small amount of oil into a heated cast iron skillet. Saute the carrots and onions until the onions become translucent. Remove from pan. Brown the ground pork/beef. Salt & Pepper to taste and add a few splashes of Worcestershire sauce. Stir the carrots, onions and peas in. Spread the mashed potatoes over the top. Sprinkle with cheese and bake at 400 for 25-30 minutes until potatoes are heated through and cheese is all bubbly.

Leave a Reply

