KBenServices

Home » Recipes » Yummy Banana Bread

Yummy Banana Bread

Banana Bread

I love to cook, experiment, try new foods, but when it comes to baking I just don’t do it.  When my kids were younger I did make cookies and the occasional cake, but that was about the extent of it.  A few years ago I decided that I really did need to learn to make Banana Bread and Pumpkin Bread.  These are my favorite two sweets.  I can always call my Mommy and talk her into making them for me, but lets face it, Mommy is in her mid 70’s.  And yes, when I’m trying to talk her into making me something like these breads I do revert to a childhood state and call her Mommy.

Over the years I have attempted to make both breads.  They never turned out like my mothers.  Actually, they didn’t turn out like anything that you’d really want to eat.  But yesterday I was determined.  I had all these bananas that were going to have to be tossed if I didn’t do something with them, and I hate to waste.   I had my Mothers recipe, but I already knew I couldn’t get that to turn out right.  So I started looking and took some ideas from a few recipes and……….viola…….. I actually impressed myself.  This is so easy to put together.

Banana Bread

2 cups mashed, very ripe, bananas (I had 7 bananas)
2 cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp cinnamon
3/4 cup brown sugar
1 stick (1/2 cup) butter
2 eggs
1/2 cup chopped nuts (pecans or walnuts) optional

Cream the brown sugar and butter, mix in the eggs then the bananas. Sift all of the dry ingredients together. Ad the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix just until combined. Spray or oil a loaf pan. Pour batter in pan and bake at 350 for 60-65 minutes, or until toothpick inserted into center comes out clean.

Now if I can just get the pumpkin bread down.

Leave a Reply

