KBenServices

Home » Recipes » Spinach and Artichoke Soup

Spinach and Artichoke Soup

I admit it, I have done very little cooking the past couple of months.  My daughter and her family moved back home so they could save up to get their own place, and, well we all know how two families living together goes.

One thing that was apparent from the beginning is we eat completely different.  This initially surprised me. I raised my daughter after all, you’d think she’d eat the way I do.  Then it dawned on me.  The way I cook and the types of foods we eat now are not what we did when my kids were growing up.  When you’re first starting out, you tend to go for getting the most from your dollar, not always the best.  And when you’ve got 3 very active kids (and you’re single to boot), meals are on the run and were seldom actually healthy.  Of course, I know realize the error of my ways and hopefully can teach my adult kids to be a bit wiser.  It may seem to cost a bit more at the store, but if you plan your meals, shop wisely, and use leftovers to create second meals, it really is more economical.

My daughter is moving out next week.  I am so excited at the thought of being able to start cooking for just my husband and me again that I did just that the other night.  Of course I couldn’t get my daughter to even taste our soup, and since she wouldn’t I couldn’t get my grandson to either.  I believe they had Bush’s Chicken instead. They don’t know what they were missing.  I guess I will just have to have my grandson spend the night without Mommy in order to get him to taste new foods. .

Image I had a half a bag of frozen chopped spinach in the freezer, and a bag of artichokes.  Two of my favorite vegies.  I’ve also still got some herbs in my garden.  Apparently thyme and sage like the cooler temps we’ve had.  I do believe this is now my favorite soup and I will be making it often.

Spinach and Artichoke Soup

1 bag frozen artichoke hearts
1/2 bag frozen chopped spinach
1/2 onion finely chopped
8 cups low sodium chicken stock
2 Tbs fresh chopped thyme
1/2 cup cream
1 cup fat free half-n-half
salt/pepper to taste

In a large soup pot (or heavy pot) add the spinach, artichokes, thyme, salt/pepper and stock.  Cook until all the vegies are done (the onions will be translucent).  Add the cream and half-n-half and cook for a few more minutes.

That’s it.  That’s all it takes to make a yummy quick soup, and with the exception of the cream, everything in it is good for you.  I’m thinking you could probably omit the cream, but it really does ad flavor.  With a bit of garlic bread, you’ve got dinner on the table in less than 30 minutes.  Since it was just hubby and I eating it, we had 3 meals out of this.  How economical is  that!

Leave a Reply

