KBenServices

Home » Recipes » Curried Vegetable & Rice Soup

Curried Vegetable & Rice Soup

Curried Vegetable Soup (600 x 450)      Curried Vegetables (600 x 450)\

While I typically do not like spicy things, it seems the colder it is, the more ‘heat’ I tend to like.  My favorite ‘spicy’ dish is pretty much anything curry.  I had some vegies in the fridge that I needed to use up so I thought I’d toss them in the crock and make a vegie curry to put over some rice.  Soup was not my intention when I created this meal, but the broth was just so good that’s what I ended up with.   Either way, vegies over rice, or more of a soup, is so comforting.

Curried Vegetables & Rice

1 butternut squash – cut into bite sized pieces
1 onion – quartered and sliced
1 head of cauliflower (or a bag of frozen)
2 – 3 carrots – sliced about 1/4 inch thick
1 large clove garlic – finely chopped
1 can garbanzo beans – drained and rinsed
2 ribs celery – chopped about 1/2 inch thick
1 carton chicken broth (about 4 cups)
1 can coconut milk
1 Tbs yellow curry powder (more if desired)
Salt/Pepper
Rice – cooked according to package directions

Add all the vegetables and the garbanzo beans to the crock pot, add chicken broth (vegetable broth would work as well), salt/pepper to taste, and curry powder. Cook on high for 4 hours. During the last 30 minutes of cooking add the coconut milk. Taste the broth and adjust curry powder and salt/pepper to taste.

Serve over rice, or ladle broth and serve as soup.

Leave a Reply

