KBenServices

Home » Recipes » Bulgur and Red Quinoa Salad

Bulgur and Red Quinoa Salad

Wheat Berry & Quinoa Salad

I love summer time. Not because of the warmer temps, although I must admit this summer has been very mild here in my little corner of Texas though. I love summer time because of the wonderful, fresh garden vegies. I love cold summer soups and all the different summer salads. They are so refreshing, quick and easy to make, and do not heat up the kitchen.

Recently while shopping in a neighboring town, one that actually has a grocery store with a wide variety of items, I bought a bag of bulgur and red quinoa. Bulgur is something I buy quite often. I love tabouli, but I have never eaten quinoa. I cooked the bulgur/quinoa according to package directions and after tasting it I thought …….. hmmmm ……. this would make a great salad, and I had garden cucumbers, tomatoes and green onions to boot. I do believe this salad will replace tabouli in my home.

Bulgur and Red Quinoa Salad

Cook the bulgur and red quinoa according to package directions. Mine was 1 cup to 2 cups water. Let cool.

Add:
1 tomato – chopped
5 green onions (both white and green parts) – chopped
English cucumber – I used about a 4 inch piece – chopped
Finely chopped flat leaf Italian Parsley – about 2 Tbs or so

Combine the vegies and the bulgur/quinoa. Drizzle in some olive oil and squeeze in the juice of 1 lemon. Combine well. Depending on the size and how juicy the lemon is, you may need to squeeze in the juice of one more. I used two lemons in mine. Salt and pepper to taste. Let sit in the fridge for at least 30 minutes before serving.

This salad is so fresh tasting and just makes you think of summer. It is even better the 2nd day. I did add more lemon juice and olive oil to it the 2nd day as the bulgur and quinoa absorbed it.

Leave a Reply

