KBenServices

Home » Uncategorized » Not My Mom’s Meatloaf

Not My Mom’s Meatloaf

Archives

I  rarely make anything with hamburger meat.  Growing up in a large family, it was the least expensive meat for Mom to buy so we ate it often.  Recently I have been craving meatloaf though.   So off to the store I go.

I’m not sure why I so seldom make meatloaf.  It’s easy to make, it’s economical, and you can put pretty much anything in it, which is a good thing.  Just as I was getting ready to start dinner I was informed that we would have 2 additional people for dinner.  I had less than a pound of ground beef, less than a pound of ground pork, and no desire or time to go back to the store.   So how do you stretch the ground meats?  Add garbanzo beans!  Oh my goodness, this was the best meatloaf I have ever made.  I wish there had been leftovers.

As with most things I make, my meatloaf is different from how Mom made it.  Hers was hamburger, onions, bell pepper, egg, oats and topped with tomato paste.   As good a cook as I think my Mom is, I personally think my meatloaf has way more flavor.

Meatloaf

So here is my Not My Mom’s Meatloaf

Ground Beef – roughly 1 lb
Ground Pork – roughly 1 lb
1 can Garbanzo beans – drained, rinsed and mashed
½ Onion – finely chopped
1 Bell Pepper – finely chopped
1 Carrot – shredded and finely chopped
1/2 can Stewed Tomatoes – drained and crushed
½ sleeve Club Crackers – crushed
Pepper
If you’re a salt-aholic you can add some.  I find there is enough salt from the crackers and the beans.

Combine all ingredients.  Use  your hands to mix, they are the best tools for meatloaf.  Place in a loaf pan and cover with ketchup.  Bake at 425 for 45 minutes to an hour.

As with most of my recipes I use what I have. In the past when I’ve needed to stretch a meatloaf I have used black beans. It’s good, but the garbanzo beans are much better. Oats can also be used as the binder instead of crackers, and any cracker works. Club is just what I had on hand. If you like a bit of spice, Rotel tomatoes in place of the Stewed tomatoes works great.


Leave a comment